Händel, Georg Friedrich | Sonates pour une flûte traversière & basse continue (1727)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored & augmented by Atelier Philidor.

  • Instrumentation: flute & continuo
  • Edition | Sources: Facsimile (2018) | Jeanne Roger, Amsterdam, 1727
  • Notation | Clefs: G1, C3, F4, figured bass
  • Paper | Binding: ivory paper, ivory card stock cover & coil binding
  • Pages | Format: 2 volumes [bass part-book added, reconstructed from the continuo part], 48 pages - 21.6 x 27.9 cm - B&W

Excerpt of the original edition published in 1727 by Jeanne Roger in Amsterdam, entitled "Sonates pour un traversiere, un violon ou hautbois con basso continuo composées par G. F. Handel."


  • Sonate 1 : in e minor [Op. 1 n°1b - HWV 359b - originally written for violin and transcribed by Handel]
  • Sonate 2 : in G major[Op. 1 n°5 - HWV 363b - originally written for oboe and transcribed by Handel]
  • Sonate 3 : in b minor [Op.1 n°9 - HWV 367b - originally written for recorder and transcribed by Handel]

"It is impossible to say how many flute sonatas were composed by George Frideric Handel, but the correct number is somewhere between none and eight. There are many reasons for the confusion: some of the sonatas were originally written for other instruments, some have uncertain authenticity, some contain borrowings from other Handel works, and some were published (in an altered form) without Handel's knowledge. At least six of the sonatas are known to contain music written by Handel, although he may not have intended some of them to have been played by the flute.

The main source of the sonatas is the 1727 publication Sonates pour un traversiere un violin ou hautbois con basso continuo composées par G. F. Handel, allegedly by the Amsterdam publisher Jeanne Roger (who had died in December 1722), however the publication was made by the printer John Walsh..." Read more, here.

Add to cart
Related Products