Krieger, Johann Philipp | Sonata seconda à doi, violino e viola da gamba (1693)

  • Description
  • More

Original edition restored & expanded.

A viola da gamba part in modern clefs (F4, C3) has been reconstructed and added to the original edition.

Instrumentation: violin, viola da gamba (bass), harpsichord

Edition | Source: Facsimile (2019) | Noribergae, Michaelis Endteri, 1693

Notation | Clefs: G1, F4, C3, C4, C1, figured bass

Pages | Format: 1 volume [separate parts for each instrument] 19 pages - 21.6 x 35.6 cm

Weight: 150 g

This sonata has been published originally in the book entitled: "XII Suonate à doi, violino e viola da gamba di Giovanni Filippo Kriegher" [Noribergae, Michaelis Endteri, 1693].

Johann Philipp Krieger (1649-1725) was a German composer, organist and keyboard player, elder brother of Johann Krieger. He was one of the outstanding German composers of his time, especially of church cantatas, of which he wrote over 2000 (nearly all lost); under his direction the cultivation of music at the small court at Weissenfels rose to the highest level of German court music.

Krieger provided the court at Weissenfels with secular as well as sacred music. Two published sets of trio sonatas – 12 for two violins and continuo (1688) and 12 for violin, bass viol and continuo (1693) – are, like Corelli’s but unlike Biber’s and Rosenmüller’s, for only three instruments instead of four.

(Source: Harold E. Samuel, Grove Music Online)


Sonata II à 2.

Andante, Largo, Presto, Largo, Aria d'inventione Parte 1-10.

NEW 2019
Add to cart
You may also like...