Bach, Johann Sebastian | Six partitas for keyboard | Clavier Übung Opus I (1731)

  • Description
  • More

 Original edition being restored currently.

  • Full title: Clavir Ubung bestehend in Praeludien, Allemanden, Couranten, Sarabanden, Giguen, Menuetten, und anderen Galanterien.
  • Instrumentation: harpsichord
  • Edition | Source: Facsimile (2024) | Balthasar Schmid, Nuremberg, 1731
  • Notation | Clefs: G2, F4, C3
  • Pages | Format: 1 volume, 79 pages - 29.7 x 21 cm

 Restoration's progress: 26/79 pages

The partitas for keyboard [BWV 825–830] are a set of six harpsichord suites written by Johann Sebastian Bach, published individually beginning in 1726 and then together as Clavier-Übung  in 1731 - the first of his works to be published under his own direction. In keeping with a nineteenth-century naming tradition that labelled Bach's first set of Suites English and the second French, the Partitas are sometimes referred to as the German Suites.  This title, however, is a publishing convenience; there is nothing particularly German about the partitas. In comparison with the two earlier sets of suites, the Partitas are by far the most free-ranging in terms of structure.


  • Partita No. 1 in B♭ major, BWV 825 : Praeludium, Allemande, Corrente, Sarabande, Menuet I, Menuet II, Gigue
  • Partita No. 2 in C minor, BWV 826 : Sinfonia, Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Rondeau, Capriccio
  • Partita No. 3 in A minor, BWV 827 : Fantasia, Allemande, Corrente, Sarabande, Burlesca, Scherzo, Gigue
  • Partita No. 4 in D major, BWV 828 : Ouverture, Allemande, Courante, Aria, Sarabande, Menuet, Gigue
  • Partita No. 5 in G major, BWV 829 : Praeambulum, Allemande, Corrente, Sarabande, Tempo di Minuetto, Passepied, Gigue
  • Partita No. 6 in E minor, BWV 830 : Toccata, Allemande, Corrente, Air, Sarabande, Tempo di Gavotta, Gigue